Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the AWS09F support portrait placement as well as landscape?
The exact product-page image shows a landscape frame, and Aluratek lists a 4:3 nine-inch display. Its linked family manual has a 9-inch section and a wall-mount hole, but does not explain portrait installation or a rotating stand; the box list and manual indicate the frame stand is not applicable to this size. Treat landscape as the documented arrangement and confirm the mounting or tabletop hardware for the exact seller package.
Explore this need in the finder →Can relatives send photos without a required frame subscription?
The exact U.S. page describes internet-connected sharing through a smartphone app and states no subscription is required. The linked family manual shows Wi-Fi connection, account registration and frame pairing. It does not establish that the named app or all social-message routes remain available now, and no-subscription does not mean no account or internet.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the microSD slot guarantee the AWS09F can show new photos without internet?
No such guarantee is established in the reviewed sources. Aluratek lists internal memory, computer transfer and microSD-family media, but the shared English manual's first-start instructions connect to Wi-Fi and its 9-inch section does not explicitly say card pictures display without Wi-Fi. Treat offline operation as unresolved rather than infer it from a card slot.
Explore this need in the finder →Source-based review · checked 31 October 2026 · no hands-on testing claimed
The Aluratek AWS09F is a nine-inch Wi-Fi touchscreen frame with a 4:3 IPS panel, built-in 16GB storage, motion-sensing power behavior and a separate microSD route. Its clearest use case is a mains-powered landscape display where relatives can contribute remotely over an internet-connected app or message route. The evidence does not establish that its local files can be displayed without Wi-Fi, despite the card slot and storage. That distinction matters if the frame is intended for a location with unreliable internet.
A nine-inch 4:3 screen for a modest viewing distance
Aluratek lists a nine-inch touchscreen with 1024 × 768 pixels and a 4:3 aspect ratio. That familiar shape suits many older camera images and prints, but it is not a promise that every modern phone photo will fill the screen without cropping. Check the source photos, especially panoramas and portrait images, before deciding whether automatic cropping will be acceptable. The official product-page image shows the black-bezel frame in landscape orientation. Neither the exact page nor the linked 9-inch section of its shared manual explains portrait placement or a rotating stand, so this review does not count the AWS09F as a verified portrait setup.
Aluratek lists outside dimensions as 9.25 × 2.5 × 7.4 inches without labeling the axes. Do not treat the nine-inch active-panel diagonal as the case width, shelf footprint or installation clearance. The page mentions a wall-mount hole, but does not specify a pattern or say that screws or a bracket are included. More importantly for tabletop buyers, Aluratek's linked Wi-Fi frame manual explicitly says the frame stand is not applicable to the 9-inch model. The current page's in-box list names a power adapter, USB cable and instructional manual, not a stand. Confirm a usable tabletop support or wall-hardware package with the exact seller before ordering.
Remote sharing is the best-documented delivery route
The exact U.S. product page describes sharing photos and videos from anywhere with an internet connection through a smartphone app and says there is no subscription. It also lists Facebook Messenger, Twitter Messages and email as routes. Its FAQ names “Smart Frame” for the phone app, while the older page-linked manual uses the name “Aluratek Smart Frame”; the reviewed sources do not establish whether every named social route or app workflow remains available today. Treat the advertised route as an internet-connected feature, not a guarantee of continuing service.
The linked 48-page English manual is a maker-hosted Wi-Fi-frame document whose download link is labelled for AWS09F, but it is not a model-code-specific manual: the cover gives a family title and the 9-inch frame receives a dedicated feature section. The shared setup instructions show connecting to a Wi-Fi network, then using an app account and frame pairing. No subscription does not mean no network or account. The page lists 802.11 b/g/n but does not identify 5 GHz support, so check the actual router band and signal where the frame will sit rather than assuming it supports every network configuration.
Local memory and cards do not prove offline operation
The page and linked manual identify 16GB of built-in memory, and Aluratek says a computer can transfer files to that memory. A microSD slot is shown in the manual's 9-inch section. The current page describes MicroSD, MicroSDHC and MicroSDXC cards, but its FAQ recommends 32GB USB or SD media; that recommendation does not define a tested maximum. The FAQ also describes slideshows from uploaded photos, USB drives or SD cards. Those are useful local-storage clues, but the exact 9-inch chapter does not state that card playback works without Wi-Fi, and the manual's first-use procedure begins with a Wi-Fi connection. The honest conclusion is that the exact setup or offline requirement remains unverified—not that local media definitely fails, and not that it definitely works offline.
Aluratek says the frame can play photo, video and audio files and includes speakers, clock, calendar, weather and alarm functions. File-format lists and practical performance were not tested here. If nearby, offline updates are essential, favor a model whose exact instructions explicitly describe local display without internet, or get written confirmation for the specific AWS09F unit before relying on it.
Motion sensing saves effort, not outlet access
The product page says a motion sensor can switch the display on or off when movement is detected up to ten feet away, and the FAQ says the sensor can be disabled in settings. Treat that as a maker-described convenience, not a measured detection range in a real room. The response in a particular room is unknown. Because the product package includes a power adapter and the manual directs the user to plug it into an outlet, the AWS09F is not a cordless frame. Motion-based power behavior also does not replace a battery or keep a display running during an outage.
Who should shortlist the AWS09F?
Consider it when a nine-inch landscape screen, built-in storage, a motion sensor and remote sharing are more useful than a verified offline or portrait routine. Its 4:3 panel, familiar touchscreen menus and no-subscription claim make a straightforward connected-frame proposition, while the older manual provides a family-level explanation of pairing, local storage and settings. The limitations are material: tabletop stand inclusion is specifically doubtful, the model is mains-powered, no anti-glare treatment is identified, and offline card display is not established.
Do not assume it behaves like the smaller AWS08F just because both are Aluratek Wi-Fi frames. The AWS08F's exact page-linked quick-start explicitly states USB/SD photos can be displayed without Wi-Fi; the AWS09F manual reviewed here does not provide that statement. Nor should AWS09F's shared 9-inch manual be treated as proof of every package item or current app feature. Confirm the exact AWS09F code, support method, installation arrangement, seller package and return terms before relying on this configuration. This source-based assessment reports no ownership, in-person inspection, measured performance or customer experience.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Display | 9-inch IPS LCD touchscreen per the exact U.S. product page and linked manual's 9-inch section |
|---|---|
| Display diagonal | 9 in |
| Aspect ratio | 4:3 |
| Supported orientations | landscape |
| Wi-Fi required | Yes |
| Required frame subscription | No |
| Listed frame dimensions | 9.25 × 2.5 × 7.4 in (23.5 × 6.4 × 18.7 cm), as listed; Aluratek does not label axis order |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Aluratek exact AWS09F U.S. product page
- Aluratek AWS09F one-option Shopify product record
- Aluratek English Wi-Fi-frame Manual V6 linked from AWS09F page; shared family manual with a 9-inch section
- U.S. CPSC/SaferProducts.gov exact-name AWS09F recall retrieval query
- Aluratek exact AWS09F product-page main image
Check the frame against your actual setup
Compare orientation, connection needs and placement before choosing a model.
